Almost Ducklings

There’s been a tragedy. My dad’s Mallard hen abandoned her nest. There were 11 eggs under her and they were all doing well a few days ago when I candled them while she was off the nest. They were doing so well that I almost had an early hatcher. My best guess is that something ran her off the nest or otherwise scared her. We had some pretty cool temps last night, so by the time I got to them this afternoon it was too late.

Can you spot Ducky Girl and her blue zip tie legband?

Can you spot Ducky Girl and her blue zip tie legband?

Keep in mind that I’m not a big fan of ducks. I hate brooding ducklings for any period of time and I hate dealing with the upkeep. Ducks are pretty nasty and not in the mean way. They get their water gross too quickly. Yet I still have an attachment to my dad’s 2 ducks. Both are Mallards. Mal is about 7 years old and doing good for such an old drake. Ducky Girl is only going into her second year. She proved to be a great mother last year when she brooded her 8 ducklings to maturity. Last year’s brood was sold off by December.

Last year's brood.

Last year’s brood.

I can only hope that she decides to start over.

Leave a Reply

