Why Dark Acre?

If you look at a picture of me, you might think it has something to do with the way I look. No, that’s not it. I was actually thinking of the front yard when I came up with that name. There are two big pecan trees (a mahan and a paper hull) in the front year. I get shade from them nearly year round. Hence Dark Acre.

My complete weirdness aside, I have actually noticed that homesteaders can look like anything and could come from any background. I just happen to be a little darker than most, that’s all. A homesteader could be anyone. Or should I say anyone could be a homesteader? That guy that looks like he should be a member of ZZ Top? Yep. A soccer mom? Yep. A hippie? Yep. An oil tycoon? I don’t see it happening, but it could. I really do mean anyone. City, country, or in between.

I live in the city of Montgomery, Alabama. I’m actually on the outskirts and almost in the county as opposed to the city. I’ve just about lived here my entire life. There were a few stints here and there where I lived in other states or counties, but I always come home. This is my home any I have no intention to leave again.

There is a reason I’ve gone in the direction I have. Before she passed away in 2008, my grandmother made sure she instilled at least a tiny bit of her love of farming in me. I had 18 amazing years with that amazing woman. At one point we had a huge garden near the back of the property, but it’s now home to a rescued 20-something Mustang. What used to be the chicken pen is now the garden. I have two separate coops; one houses my dad’s mallards and one that houses my chickens. A pot bellied pig calls Dark Acre home and in her pen is a cage housing 5 coturnix quail. We’re also home to 4 dogs and a host of cats. I’m not going in to how many cats live here since most of them are strays.

I hope you’ll stick around and see what I’ve got going on. I’m sure I can show you something interesting!

Leave a Reply

